A new era unfolds

Ministry of Tourism, after a reshuffle of the cabinet advised by PM Narendra Modi, has got three ministers taking charge of the tourism industry in what could be a new era for the sector.

The new Cabinet Minister for Tourism & Culture is G Kishan Reddy. He takes over from Prahlad Singh Patel who was at the helm of the portfolio since May 30, 2019. Reddy, an MP representing Secunderabad (Lok Sabha constituency) since 2019, has also been appointed as the Minister of Development of North-East Region.

Taking charge alongside him is Shripad Yesso Naik, who has returned as the Minister of State, Tourism. Naik had a stint as Minister of State for Tourism earlier in 2014 for a brief period. Prior to the new appointment, he was the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) in the Ministry of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH) and Minister of State for Defence.

Apart from Naik, Ajay Bhatt also has been given the portfolio of Minister of State, Tourism. In the past, Bhatt has also held portfolios like Parliamentary Affairs, Health, Disaster Excise as Cabinet Minister in Uttarakhand Government.

Check Also

‘India beckons wellness tourists’

With International Yoga Day being celebrated worldwide, India is making the right moves to attract …